Day 6: Lessons From My Foray Into Video Games

Hello, my lovely Creators!

It may seem like I’m about to go off on a different tangent here but I promise there is a point.

Lately, I’ve been on a video game binge to the point that I even started thinking about having a live stream for when I play games either by myself or with friends. It seemed like a fun idea, especially since it would take my mind off of the things that are plaguing me these days. I even started working on getting things together using the software that other streamers use for their live feeds on a site called Twitch.

I’ve never done anything like it so I’ve been playing around with the software, learning about overlays and how to configure all these things to work together so that when I load my game, and I turn on my camera, people can watch me play my favorite games and I can converse with them at the same time.

Well, it seemed like I had gotten everything working and I even tried going live. However, the software kept getting disconnected, frames were dropped, my live feed kept freezing, and it was a disaster. I couldn’t figure out how to fix any of it, and one thing led to another to just make me feel worse about it.

All I wanted to do is try something that looked like fun and maybe even get a few others in on it as well. I don’t know how many of you are familiar with Twitch; it is a place where people do live streams of themselves doing just about anything. The majority of people using it seem to be gamers, but there are plenty of other uses for it. Some have suggested that I play the most popular games, games I’m not even interested in playing. Why? It’s the best way to get more viewers, and since I’m a girl, there is a higher chance of people watching if I play those type of games.

I’ve seen girls like that, and I can tell you right now, I am not that, and I never want to be like that. I’m not saying they are all out to seek attention and an easy way to get money or whatever material item they want. It just really seems that way and I’ve heard similar opinions around the grapevine. One of the biggest suggestions I keep getting is that because I’m not a “pro-gamer,” I should play the most popular games and maybe even be a little risqué. I am disgusted by some of the things I’ve heard. Sadly, they are not wrong, but it’s not who I am and getting an incredible amount of viewers is not what I’m after. It’s ridiculous that if I haven’t been playing since I was five or because I’m not a guy, I can’t be taken seriously.

What in the world does this have to do with writing?
I enjoy writing. More people should do it; it’s cheaper than therapy. I am not a professional writer. I don’t get paid to do it. God willing someday I will be if I keep at it. Never say never. That doesn’t mean I can’t do it. That doesn’t mean I can’t learn other ways of doing it to better myself.

I know that as I become more comfortable with putting my writing out there, there will be people who will criticize what I write. Criticize, not critique, there is a difference. They will tell me that it’s no good, that for anyone to be interested, I should do it this way instead. I’m sure they mean well and are full of good intentions. However, this advice does not always help.

Something I firmly believe when it comes to writing is that if you are giving any sort of feedback on anyone’s work, the best way to help them is with constructive critique. You break the bones of the writing so that they can be set right. You don’t break them to try to form something completely different from what they are supposed to be.

Although these people meant well, since they know me, and are trying to be nice about it, their words of advice are not helpful in what I want to be and what I want to do.
In the case of my adventure in streaming games, I don’t want to be another cliche. I merely want to enjoy myself and enjoy this with my friends.
Regarding my writing, we’re not in school anymore. There is no right way, and there is no wrong way. It’s a matter of expressing yourself precisely in the way you mean to. I’ve found my voice, and I know how I want to use it.
So with that my lovely Creators, today I’m just encouraging you to keep doing you. As for myself, I need to be more vigilant in my writing, read more, seek out new learning opportunities.
Be bold and guard your voice. You know who you are, don’t let anyone try to change your mind.

And now for another story.

As he put his arms through the straps of the shoulder holster, he examined himself again in the mirror. Dark eyes searched for anything that would hinder his movements. With care, he loaded his gun and placed it in the holster, just to the left of his heart. In the other room, his cell alarm shrilled. Turning off the alarm, he thumbed through his phone to the voice-mail. Derek pushed play and listened to the singular message one last time. Taking a breath, he turned to leave. It was time to find the man who kidnapped and killed his sister.

Leave a comment